The Lok Janshakti Party is a state political party in the state Bihar, India.It is led by Ram Vilas Paswan. The party was formed in 2000 when Paswan split from Janata Dal (United).

  You are here:  Home / Party History

Party History
The Lok Janshakti Party is a India’s one of the leading state political party having its foundation base in the state of Bihar, India. It is led by Sh.Ram Vilas Paswan. The party was formed in 2000 when Shri Paswan separated from Janata Dal (United). The party has considerable following amongst Dalits in Bihar. Currently party is a member of the National Democratic Alliance with 6 MPs & one Cabinet Ministerial Berth in it’s hands.

2004 Lok Sabha General Elections

The 2004 Lok Sabha elections marked a major break-through for the party. It contested the polls in alliance with the Indian National Congress and the RJD and won four Lok Sabha seats. In the United Progressive Alliance-led government formed after the poll, Sh. Ram Vilas Paswan became the Minister of Steel and Fertilizers.

2005 Bihar Assembly Elections

In the 2005 Bihar assembly polls held in February the party contested in alliance with the Congress and against the RJD and won 29 assembly seats. However no alliance could secure majority and party refused to give support to any alliance to form the Government.

Latest Developments (2014)

Among other developments, Jan Morcha the party founded by former Prime Minister Vishwanath Pratap Singh was merged with the LJP in March 2009. Jan Morcha president Ajeya Singh, son of Sh.Vishvanath Pratap Singh, was appointed as a senior LJP functionary.

On 27 February 2014, Lok Janshakti Party officially announced it re-entering the National Democratic Alliance led by Bharatiya Janata Party, after a gap of 12 years. It would contested on 7 Lok Sabha seats from Bihar in Indian general election, 2014 & won 6 seats by giving the party a renewed strength under leadership of Mr.Ram Vilas Paswan & spearheaded by Sh.Chirag Paswan.

Sh.Chirag Paswan has been the catalyst in LJP’s move to join NDA and He is the President of Party’s Parliamentary Board.